Home » Admissions » Placement Test / Registration

Placement Test / Registration


Make an Appointment to Register for classes

Make an Appointment to Take the Placement Test

Transfer students who plan to transfer credits from another college may be exempt from taking the placement test. Students that are transferring credits from a college that is not part of MnSCU (Minnesota State College and Universities) need to send ICC an official copy of their college transcript. To register, please make an appointment to meet with an ICC counselor by calling 218-322-2340 or 218-322-2390.

New Students who are registering for seven or more college credits or plan to enroll in an English or math course are required to take the placement test unless you are transferring English and math credits from another college. The test does not determine acceptance, but is used for course placement. The placement test can be taken at any Minnesota community college. The test is NOT timed, so you may pace yourself. On average, students take two hours to complete all three assessments (reading, math and computers). Students must have a picture ID to take the placement test.


You may wish to prepare for placement tests by reviewing the following sample questions and study materials:

 

ACT Test - Students who have a English sub-score of 18 or a reading sub-score of 21 are exempt from taking the English and reading test and are ready for college-level English and reading classes. An ACT sub-score in Math of 22  means students are ready to enroll in college algebra, statistics or contemporary math. Students need to submit a copy of their ACT score to ICC.

 

The last group placement test for Fall Semester 2014 is Thursday, August 21. If you need to test for fall semester after this date, please call the testing center at 218-322-2390 to make an individual appointment.


Fall Semester 2014 - Placement testing/ Registration Session

 

Wednesday, June 4 9 am  or 1 pm Administration Building Classroom
Thursday, June 5 9 am and 1 pm Administration Building Classroom
 Friday, June 13 1 pm Backes Center 15
Wednesday, June 18 1 pm Backes Center 15
Tuesday, June 24 9 am or 1 pm Backes Center 15
Wednesday June 25 9 am or 1 pm Backes Center 15
Thursday, June 26 9 am or 1 pm Backes Center 15
Wednesday, June 18 1 pm Backes Center 15
Tuesday, June 24 9 am or 1 pm Backes Center 15
Wednesday June 25 9 am or 1 pm Backes Center 15
Thursday, June 26 9 am or 1 pm Backes Center 15
Tuesday, July 8 9 am or 1 pm  Backes Center 15
Wednesday, July 9 9 am or 1 pm Backes Center 15
Thursday, July 10 1 pm Backes Center 15
Tuesday, July 15 9 am or 1 pm Backes Center 15
Tuesday, July 22 9 am or 1 pm Backes Center 15
Wednesday, July 23 1 pm Backes Center 15
Thursday, July 24 10 am Backes Center 15
 Wednesday, August 6 9 am or 1 pm Backes Center 15
Thursday, August 7 1 pm Backes Center 15
 Monday, August 11 9 am or 1 pm Backes Center 15
Thursday, August 14 1 pm Backes Center 15
 Monday, August 18 1 pm Backes Center 15
Wednesday, August 20 10 am Backes Center 15

Engineering Registration - Wenger Hall 206 - Registration and Placement Testing

Wednesday, April 30                  3 pm                                                           
Monday, May 12 3 pm
Thursday, May 22 10 am
Tuesday, June 3                       10 am
Monday, June 23 10 am
Monday, July 21                                      10 am

Post Secondary Enrollment Option (PSEO) Registration Sessions

Monday, June 9 9 am and 1 pm
Wednesday, June 11 9 am and 1 pm
Friday, June 13 9 am

Note: PSEO student interested in engineering should make an appointment for an engineering registration session. Post-Secondary Option (PSEO) students cannot test and register on the same day.